Kanger Pro-Tank 2 Chemical Taste
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Kanger Pro-Tank 2 Chemical Taste

Post Kanger Pro-Tank 2 Chemical Taste

Pro-Tank 2 came in the mail today and, by far, it beats out the iClear30s and Vivi Novas I own. Its already survived a 3 foot fall on hard wood floors (thank my dog).
    But I keep getting this wretched chemical taste. It isn't consistent, sometimes I'll get an excellent vape. It is common enough for me to set it down until I can (hopefully) resolve this issue.
    Things I've tried:
    • Rinsed and soaked all the parts, excluding the atomizer, in hot water.
    • Let it soak upright with a full tank for 2+ hours.
    • Continue vaping, hoping the taste would go away.

This makes me think that its the atomizer. I don't know how to clean (or if I can) the atomizer.
    I'm relatively new to vaping and brand new to Kanger and bottom fed clearomizers, so its probably something quite obvious.

Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

With my PT1, I had a terrible taste until I washed with Dawn a couple times & of course a good rinse.
    Then I rinsed it with PGA & let it air dry. No problems since.
    Hope that helps. I never cleaned the atomizer/head.
    Last edited by jcco; 08-07-2013 at 11:27 PM. Reason: add on

I have rinsed the atmisers of protanks many times. Perhaps theres some oils from machining in them.
    Just let them dry off properly before use.

ECF Moderator Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member

Moved to Assorted PV Topics - Clearomizers
    TheSystemHasFailed likes this.

Super Member ECF Veteran

I rinse the coils in hot water and then soak them over night in vodka. Next day I rinse them in hot water and let them dry out. That's my cleaning process for the coils. It works well.
    NLDV likes this.

I washed everything with a little dawn and did a nice rinse of the atomizer. Took a hair dryer to the coil and wick because I'm way too impatient