Does nicotine reduce oxygen flow in the blood?

Thread: Does nicotine reduce oxygen flow in the blood?

Moved On

Default Does nicotine reduce oxygen flow in the blood?

I know cigarette SMOKE does but I was wondering if nicotine did also. Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks.

Full Member ECF Veteran

I am not a doctor, Jim, but I believe carbon monoxide is the component of cigarette smoke responsible for causing poor circulation. CO (carbon Monoxide) is a byproduct of combustion, so it is not present in vapor. On a more empirical and personal note, I have been vaping heavily for almost a year, and my circulation is better than it ever was as a smoker. In fact, living in Utah, I find that warm fingers and toes is one of the best positive effects of switching from analogs.

Moved On

Quote Originally Posted by des09 View Post
    I am not a doctor, Jim, but I believe carbon monoxide is the component of cigarette smoke responsible for causing poor circulation. CO (carbon Monoxide) is a byproduct of combustion, so it is not present in vapor. On a more empirical and personal note, I have been vaping heavily for almost a year, and my circulation is better than it ever was as a smoker. In fact, living in Utah, I find that warm fingers and toes is one of the best positive effects of switching from analogs.
    Thanks des. That's EXACTLY what I thought. I'm going to start a muscle building workout regiment and circulation is extremely important in recovery. I was hoping my PV wouldn't effect that.

Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

LIke Mark said, circulation will improve with Ecigs over regular analogs.

But nicotine is a mild vaso-constrictor- just like caffeine/coffee/pepsi are They are all stimulants. I think pretty much ALL stimulants constrict your arteries now that I think about it. That's why they raise your blood pressure a lil.

But our nicotine juice is comparable to coffee so don't fret about it. It's a minor vaso-constrictor and is as safe as caffeine.