Protank TIGHT DRAW!!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Protank TIGHT DRAW!!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    12

    Default Protank TIGHT DRAW!!

    So I have been switching the stock heads that come with my protank every fill. This is probably the 3rd or 4th refill on this head, and the draw went from airy to tight... Is something going on? im using 50/50 and have been since I bought my Protank. Just wondering if anyone has experienced this...

  2. #2
    Moved On Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SOCAL, USA
    Posts
    951

    Default

    did you swap an evod head in there? my evod heads in the protank are significantly tighter than the protank head.

  3. #3
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    the_vape_nerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,617

    Default

    every fill seems kind of expensive

    anyhow, there are videos on youtube which explain how to full take the heads apart

    you likely need to remove one or more of the flavor wicks, these are wicks that are not spun into the coil but sit on top of it...all you need is a little tweezer to get it out but its kind of impossible for me to explain the process here

    google "cleaning the kanger pro tank" there are several you tube videos...even if you dont want to clean the head, you will want to get one of the flavor wicks out of there

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Let me explain better, Im swapping the TWO heads that came with it EVERY OTHER clean. So I am still using the same two that came with it
    the_vape_nerd likes this.

  5. #5
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    the_vape_nerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,617

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JB Kucken View Post
    Let me explain better, Im swapping the TWO heads that came with it EVERY OTHER clean. So I am still using the same two that came with it
    ahh ok that makes sense

    anyhow, the heads dont last forever, i do think you should try cleaning them...its no very hard to do once you've done it a time or two...take five minutes or so, you'll get to know the inner workings too so when you have a tight draw you can make adjustments
    JB Kucken likes this.

  6. #6
    Moved On Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SOCAL, USA
    Posts
    951

    Default

    maybe the atomizer is gunked up now. I replace them regularly with brand spanking new (rebuilds)

  7. #7
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guthrie, OK
    Posts
    713

    Default

    What are you using them on? Sometimes on a Vamo, which has fairly deep threading, tightening a KPT fully will close off the intake holes. Can you loosen up the draw by unscrewing the KPT 1/4 turn?

    Also, alot of us haven't had the greatest experience with the heads that come with the KPT. If you bought some extra heads, the build quality seems to be improved on replacement heads. Save your stock heads for rebuilding. Might just be time to clean them out and dry burn them.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Even if the head was filthy I'm not sure that would cause the draw to tighten up like that unless it was so bad it solidified. Are you using 2 different bases? One of my Protanks came with a base that did not have the air channels machined into it so there was pretty much no draw at all. Like sucking on your thumb kind of draw.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Well I take it out, and run it under warm water until the wick is white again. Should I be doing more? Eventually I want to Rebuild them both so I dont need to BUY more heads.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I am using it on a eG0-v V2 mega at around 4.5v.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks