Blow Up - Any Truth To The Rumor That E-Cig's can "Blow Up" ?
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree92Likes

Thread: Blow Up - Any Truth To The Rumor That E-Cig's can "Blow Up" ?

Full Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

Default Blow Up - Any Truth To The Rumor That E-Cig's can "Blow Up" ?

Catch on fire, anything like that? At any time, for any reason??

I'm a total newbie. And this is a total newbie question. So please bear with me.

Senior Member Verified Member wharr's Avatar

First off welcome to ECF, Yes it is true. There are batteries that are being sold that are not fit for vaping. There are also mods and other things can can cause them to get too hot and explode. I have not experienced this problem due to I purchase from reputable knowledgable vendors. While vaping if you feel your battery or mod getting hot then remove the battery.
    I am sure more experienced members will be along shortly with more accurate answers.

Good luck and again welcome to ECF

ECF Guru* ECF Veteran Vapoor eyes er's Avatar

Yes if not observing proper battery safety. Never charge batts unattended. ALWAYS buy safe chemistry quality batts and charger from a reputable Vendor. Never overcharge batts. Make sure your Mod has vents/ holes.

PV Master Team ECF (folding@home)
    Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Sitting down, facing forward, but that's not important right now.
    Blog Entries

Just to chime in a little...Most of the "horror" stories of batteries blowing up can be traced to user error more than any other reason. Improper charger, "well, it looked like it was the same", improper charging environment, like left in a car attached to a charger in the broiling sun during the summer, and there are other examples.