Why hasn't Provari upgraded to a VV/VW unit yet?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: Why hasn't Provari upgraded to a VV/VW unit yet?

  1. #1
    Super Member DavidAmonettNashville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Nashville,Tn
    Posts
    928

    Question Why hasn't Provari upgraded to a VV/VW unit yet?

    I personally do not use the VW feature on my MVP2 but I'm kinda a numbers geek so I have no trouble with Volts X Volts / Ohms gives me the wattage but for others, particularly newcomers, I think VW is a superior format. VW devices take the guesswork out and insure a steady and consistent experience. Having said all this I wonder why Provari, The acknowledged leader in the PV universe, Hasn't upgraded their chipset to accommodate the need? (Plz don't attack me for asking the question. I have no beef with Team Provari )
    Soup is NOT a meal Vera!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Where trees donīt grow
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Been asking this too. I guess they are overconfident.
    The Kid likes this.

  3. #3
    Super Member DavidAmonettNashville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Nashville,Tn
    Posts
    928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by julpin View Post
    Been asking this too. I guess they are overconfident.
    It doesn't seem that it would be that difficult to do? Other companies have been quick to add VW (variable wattage) to their devices. Mabey Provari doesn't think it's an issue for them?
    Soup is NOT a meal Vera!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Verified Member Paksoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    157

    Default

    VW would be nice ... OLED screen would be cool too. If and when VW happens, the classifieds will get quite a few owners selling their older versions so they can upgrade, I know I will. Provari may even offer a board upgrade program for current users so they can update their older versions.
    Last edited by Paksoy; 01-13-2014 at 12:59 AM.
    Coldrake likes this.

  5. #5
    Full Member* Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    EXILEDinATL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Jackson, GA.
    Posts
    149

    Default

    I only use VW so that is what killed the provari for me.

    Current Mods: Dark Stalker VHO Titan, GCM #2 (OKR Box Mod), Richman Hybrid #12, Hana clone, ZNA clone, Pegasus clone, + more.

  6. #6
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Rickajho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    9,152

    Default

    Been discussed to death. The last go-round was here. => Is there a Variable Wattage ProVari in the works????!!!

    VW is largely a solution in search of a problem. You have to weigh all the other things a Provari does right/well in the context of whether VW really matters.

    Regarding the desire for an OLED display: That display was chosen and continues to be used because you can't kill it. Not easily, unlike an OLED.

  7. #7
    PV Exporer/Juice Saucier Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    dice57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Mount Vernon, Wa
    Posts
    4,548

    Default

    You would have to ask Provape why. Might have something to do with their consistent Voltage outlook. To me it's no big deal, sure VW would be a convenience, but I just crank the Provari up till I get an E2 error and then dial it down .1 volt and vape at maximum watt output which on my current build works out to 15.6 watts. If they ever do an upgrade, I imagine they will offer it to current owners like they did when they had their last upgrade.
    P.S.: the cat bites!
    Spot, I am not a Tree!!



  8. #8
    Super Member DavidAmonettNashville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Nashville,Tn
    Posts
    928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickajho View Post
    Been discussed to death./

    VW is largely a solution in search of a problem. .
    I wasn't here during that discussion and I must say that I see VW as a very useful tool and certainly not a "solution in search of a problem"
    Coldrake likes this.
    Soup is NOT a meal Vera!

  9. #9
    PV Master Team ECF (folding@home)
    ECF Veteran
    tj99959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    utah
    Posts
    9,613

    Default

    Why should they?
    Seems to me like Provape is doing just fine.








    trying to remember if I turned the screen on today
    Last edited by tj99959; 01-13-2014 at 01:13 AM.
    bulldog63h, Baditude and TFL! like this.
    http://www.casaa.org/images/9974739e5e33027c7244f0b4518d5a2d.jpg

  10. #10
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    suspectK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    somewherez
    Posts
    4,377

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paksoy:11857249
    VW would be nice ... OLED screen would be cool too. If and when VW happens, the classifieds will get quite a few owners selling their older versions so they can upgrade, I know I will. Provari may even offer a board upgrade program for current users so they can update their older versions.
    Why? Battery gets drained quicker.. and if you're putting different atomizers on, you should change your settings, regardless if vv or vw.

    And the LED screen is one edge I'd give to the provari over the semovar. oLED screens are prone to damage from liquid spills/user error.
    bulldog63h, Baditude and PLANofMAN like this.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks