Difference between 18490 & 18500 batteries
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Difference between 18490 & 18500 batteries

  1. #1
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Scoop224's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    713

    Default Difference between 18490 & 18500 batteries

    Hey gang,

    Loving my Provari V2 and getting another one next month, but in the meantime I'm looking for something for my wife. She stole my Vamo from me because she is a little intimidated by the menu of the Provari, and is afraid she might lose it or something. I'd like the Vamo back. Hehe.....

    she normally vapes store bought 808/901 disposable carts with an adapter and I refill them for her. Thing is, she usually vapes in the 3 -4 volt range so 3.7 would be just fine.

    I 've been checking out the Provape-1, and I need to know if the 18490 batts that I have with my V2 will work in the PV-1? Thanks....I am extremely impressed with Provape's products and feel that she needs something of that quality without all the bells and whistles.

  2. #2
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Riverboat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scoop224 View Post
    Hey gang,

    Loving my Provari V2 and getting another one next month, but in the meantime I'm looking for something for my wife. She stole my Vamo from me because she is a little intimidated by the menu of the Provari, and is afraid she might lose it or something. I'd like the Vamo back. Hehe.....

    she normally vapes store bought 808/901 disposable carts with an adapter and I refill them for her. Thing is, she usually vapes in the 3 -4 volt range so 3.7 would be just fine.


    I 've been checking out the Provape-1, and I need to know if the 18490 batts that I have with my V2 will work in the PV-1? Thanks....I am extremely impressed with Provape's products and feel that she needs something of that quality without all the bells and whistles.
    NO the 18490 batteries will NOT work in the Provape-1... It take a 14500 battery only...
    Get her a Provari... with a VV Provari its the same hit every time through out the battery charge unlike a fixed 3.7 volt mod (Provape-1)..as your voltage drops so does your vapor production..
    The 14500 battery life is not that great... Ive started off with a Provape-1 back in my early days of vaping.. Once you go VV theres no turning back...
    Last edited by Riverboat; 02-08-2013 at 01:09 PM.

  3. #3
    My 0^10 = Nothing at All* ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    zoiDman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Local Group - Earth
    Posts
    18,183

    Default

    I dunno about a Provape-1...

    But I know that my Provari VV will take either 18490 or 18500 Batteries.

  4. #4
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Scoop224's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zoiDman View Post
    I dunno about a Provape-1...

    But I know that my Provari VV will take either 18490 or 18500 Batteries.
    That's what's confusing me. She's not anywhere near as heavy a vaper as me so I think she's be okay with the power limits. Plus, I have several 18490 batts so she'd always have a couple spares on hand. And the price is flippin awesome... Just need a definitive answer.

  5. #5
    My 0^10 = Nothing at All* ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    zoiDman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Local Group - Earth
    Posts
    18,183

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scoop224 View Post
    That's what's confusing me. She's not anywhere near as heavy a vaper as me so I think she's be okay with the power limits. Plus, I have several 18490 batts so she'd always have a couple spares on hand. And the price is flippin awesome... Just need a definitive answer.
    I can't say if they will or won't work on a Provape-1 because I don't own one. But if I was you, I would spend a Little More and get a Provari vs a Provape-1.

    VV is the only way to go. And even if your wife doesn't use the Variable Voltage much, having a Second Provari is a good Backup for You.

  6. #6
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Scoop224's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    713

    Default

    A second Provari was already going to happen as soon as the green LED comes back. She's used my Provari before and actually didn't like it because of the funky menu. I was just hoping I could get her something with the same build quality but in a much simpler form....she hates gadgety type thingies. Hahaha!

  7. #7
    Resting In Peace ECF Veteran bivie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Damon, TX near Houston
    Posts
    2,046

    Default

    Only the 14500 will work. The 18490/500s will be too wide.

    If your wife is intimidated by a VV menu, I think you are right to want to get her
    a Provape-1. They are great little units to have as a backup, anyway. There is
    nothing wrong with having a unit like that as opposed to the VV device. Don't let
    the Provari owners sway you. You didn't ask them which one you should get, anyway,
    you asked about the battery fit. They just can't help themselves for some reason.

    BTW - your Vamo is a great unit. I understand why you want it back. It is sturdy,
    easy to use, and has more features than a Provari, such as variable wattage. And
    it costs 5 or 6 times less. Don't get me wrong - I think owning a Provari is great
    and a good choice. I'm just saying there are others, too, and you mentioned two
    good ones.
    Scoop224 and Stephenst4470 like this.
    Vamo, 2.5 Mech Mods, 2 Ovale 8s, 2 Twist/Spinners, 41-808 cig alike, Phx, Phx V3,
    Vivis, Mopheads, F16, F15, F17, M3s, Micromizers, 808 Nanos (yuck), Micromizers, cartos

  8. #8
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Scoop224's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Thank you, Mr. President! I needed to know about the difference in batts, and your size information clears that up for me. Awesome!

  9. #9
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Riverboat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scoop224 View Post
    That's what's confusing me. She's not anywhere near as heavy a vaper as me so I think she's be okay with the power limits. Plus, I have several 18490 batts so she'd always have a couple spares on hand. And the price is flippin awesome... Just need a definitive answer.
    [QUOTE=Riverboat;8583187] NO the 18490 batteries will NOT work in the Provape-1... It takes a 14500 battery only...
    [QUOTE]


    Ive gave it to you allready........ Ive been with Provape for 3 + years since their begining...Ive owned em all...

  10. #10
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Scoop224's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Ok, I wasn't looking at the 14 & 18 part... All I was seeing was the 500.... The numbering system on these batts is a little confusing on the eyes sometimes... Once it was explained that there was a diameter difference, I realized where I was missing something.

    I still really think she'd be more than happy with something this simple. And I know she wouldn't freak out as much if she lost it vs. losing a Provari.... She's kinda flighty like that. Still mulling over my options. Thanks guys!
    taoistbiker likes this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks