Variable Wattage Provari ?
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 66
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Variable Wattage Provari ?

  1. #1
    Registered Supplier ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    626
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Variable Wattage Provari ?

    Just a suggestion: If ProVape made a variable wattage version of the ProVari, I'd buy it and I'm sure many others would too. Any plans for such a device from ProVape in the future ?

    AZCraig
    Nicotinologist likes this.

  2. #2
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    KeysBum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida Keys, USA
    Posts
    1,663

    Default

    Variable volts. variable watts. Maybe I'm missing something, but to me it's the same thing.



    Ohm's Law Calculator
    Nicotinologist likes this.

    .................................................. .................And I haven't saved a dime.

  3. #3
    Registered Supplier ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    626
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeysBum View Post
    Variable volts. variable watts. Maybe I'm missing something, but to me it's the same thing.

    Ohm's Law Calculator
    It isn't the same thing. A variable wattage mod has to measure the output voltage of the battery and the resistance of the atomizer and then regulate TO a specific amperage in order to get the correct wattage.

    Voltage mods just measure the voltage from the battery and then regulate the output of the mod to match the user selected voltage. This requires the user to pre-measure the resistance of the atomizer, plug in their desired amperage and then set the voltage on the mod accordingly. Since the resistance of atomizers change over time, it must be measured periodically by the user and then the user must adjust the voltage to get the desired wattage.

    I hope that clarifies it for you.

    AZCraig
    washvap likes this.

  4. #4
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    KeysBum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida Keys, USA
    Posts
    1,663

    Default

    OK, that makes sense. For me, I just turn the dial on my buzz pro until it tastes right. Same result. I really don't need to measure anything, I go by taste, not an LED readout.
    Last edited by KeysBum; 01-28-2012 at 03:57 AM.
    spaceballsrules and TonyTT like this.

    .................................................. .................And I haven't saved a dime.

  5. #5
    Super Member ECF Veteran Slurp812's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northwest Ohio
    Posts
    391

    Default

    This is how the Darwin works. You adjust the wattage, and it does the voltage setting for you to achieve the same wattage no matter what the resistance of the carto/atty is. Us provari guys have to think a bit about where to set the voltage when changing cartos....
    Nicotinologist likes this.

  6. #6
    Super Member ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AZCraig View Post
    Just a suggestion: If ProVape made a variable wattage version of the ProVari, I'd buy it and I'm sure many others would too. Any plans for such a device from ProVape in the future ?

    AZCraig
    yea well if any other VV PV was built even nearly as flawless as the ProVari than I'd buy it, and I'm sure many others would too.
    TonyTT likes this.

  7. #7
    Ultra Member ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,940

    Default

    I actually wished the ProVari had this feature before I bought it, when comparing it to the Darwin.

    It's really a more practical measure, because it's a measure of heat at the coil(s) that is kept constant.
    Nicotinologist likes this.

  8. #8
    Registered Supplier ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    626
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frick View Post
    I actually wished the ProVari had this feature before I bought it, when comparing it to the Darwin.

    It's really a more practical measure, because it's a measure of heat at the coil(s) that is kept constant.
    Almost, wattage isn't a measure of heat, but of energy consumed. Wattage through the coil does directly relate to the heat the coil produces, but there are other factors related to heat production as well. Just wanted to clarify....
    Credo and washvap like this.

  9. #9
    Full Member ECF Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    115
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Do you mean a digital readout like the Darwin? That would be a nice added feature. I can calculate the wattage on my ProVari by reading the ato resistance and the voltage mentally. I=E/R and P=IxE. P=Watt, E=volt and I=amp or current. I am happy to just be able to tune in my ProVari for the best taste and TH. I do not concern myself too much about what watt am I at. I believe they make a small digital volt/amp gauge combination like the the digital voltmeter and use yhe P=ie formula. Some one will probably come up with one on ECF sooner or later. I am going to search for it myself.

  10. #10
    Ultra Member* Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    andyman97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    To me, it doesn't matter. I tend to vape different juices at different voltages. The cartomizer resistances don't change that much that I've noticed. And I don't like the same voltage at all times during the day. When I first wake up and before going to bed, I like a more mild hit. With my coffee and after meals, I want a murderous hit. Other points during the day, I want it somewhere in between, depending on how much I've been vaping, how stressed I am, etc.

    To me, having the ability to set a constant wattage would make no difference. Because I only use cartos and the resistance doesn't change much, if any, and I'm constantly dialing in/changing my voltage, setting it for wattage or voltage doesn't make a difference, it's taste, vapor, and TH that determines where I will set it.

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks