Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Both Provaris cut out on me

  1. #1
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    roonies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    in the cat toy aisle
    Posts
    1,982

    Default Both Provaris cut out on me

    I am having an issue that I am pretty sure is user error. Both of my Provaris, which are less than a month old, cut out on me periodically while vaping. Usually I am power vaping at the time and the tanks (Protank 2) are getting quite hot. All of a sudden they will cut out mid pull and then fire again. I do not get an error message, but rather the 2 dashes that you see between menu prompts will flash. Occasionally either the battery level or volt setting will flash....I suspect the volt setting as it's oftentimes 3.7. I rebuild my own heads and test them out before using and they always seem great, usually testing out at about 1.8. Is it possible these are shorts happening or does my tank just get too hot? I know it's not an issue with the device as both do it, so it has to be something I'm doing....any help would be appreciated....thx!!

  2. Advertisement
  3. #2
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Sugar_and_Spice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    in flux--between here and there
    Posts
    5,466

    Default

    Well, the provari's do have safety features built in to protect the device from over-heating. Go to the provape site and read the on-line manual. You may find your answers there. I also think there is a 10 sec cutoff with the switch also.

    Let us know how it goes.

    roonies likes this.

  4. #3
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    Supporting Member
    Preloader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Is it possible that you are accidentally pulse firing while vaping? If my finger slips off the fire button mid vape and I press it again to keep going, I sometimes get up to a 5 count of button pushes, which puts me into menu mode.

    Maybe you're putting just enough pressure on the button to be bouncing between fire/not fire.

    Try pressing harder when you vape and see if it subsides.
    The Ocelot, MDV39, Talyon and 4 others like this.


  5. #4
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    roonies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    in the cat toy aisle
    Posts
    1,982

    Default

    That actually makes a lot of sense. Probably what I am doing. I'll watch more closely and thanks!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Preloader View Post
    Is it possible that you are accidentally pulse firing while vaping? If my finger slips off the fire button mid vape and I press it again to keep going, I sometimes get up to a 5 count of button pushes, which puts me into menu mode.

    Maybe you're putting just enough pressure on the button to be bouncing between fire/not fire.

    Try pressing harder when you vape and see if it subsides.

  6. #5
    reMember٭ Verified Member
    Supporting Member
    Seapup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Preloader View Post
    Is it possible that you are accidentally pulse firing while vaping? If my finger slips off the fire button mid vape and I press it again to keep going, I sometimes get up to a 5 count of button pushes, which puts me into menu mode.

    Maybe you're putting just enough pressure on the button to be bouncing between fire/not fire.

    Try pressing harder when you vape and see if it subsides.
    I made that mistake more than a few times when I started using a ProVari. Blew a few coils in the process too.
    roonies likes this.

  7. #6
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    roonies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    in the cat toy aisle
    Posts
    1,982

    Default

    so far, so good....that seems to be the solution....and I have blown a few coils too so....YAY!! thanks for the input!

    Quote Originally Posted by Seapup View Post
    I made that mistake more than a few times when I started using a ProVari. Blew a few coils in the process too.
    Preloader, baghandler and Seapup like this.

  8. #7
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    Supporting Member
    Preloader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Yeah, I think once, I accidentally brought up the Pu menu, then held the button down to continue my hit, unknowingly raising the volts to 5.8. The next hit I went for threw an overamp code, luckily protecting my coil.

    I have since adjusted my technique and also raised awareness of button slips. If it happens, I just give a pause before the next go.
    roonies likes this.


  9. #8
    Provarinati in fideliam ☆ Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Susan W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    7,055

    Default

    I saw the title and said to myself "What?" No way two could break at the same time. I sure hope that pulse thing was the problem. I don't power vape so I've never had this happen.
    roonies likes this.


  10. #9
    Mystagogue Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    The Ocelot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Inside the Puzzle Box
    Posts
    16,773
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default

    You beat me to it Sir Sloth. Perhaps it should be noted in a Sacred Text that one must keep firm pressure on the center of the Blessed ProVari's button, since this issue has come up more than once.

    It should also be noted to NEVER check the ohms on a dry carto, since the ProVari measures resistance "under load" (meaning it fires to get a reading) and a dry carto will be toast.
    ProVarinati Princess ~ Infanta del Phidiae-Reo ~ Baroness Boboni of Sigeleiland
    CASAA Member

    No one needs a ProVari, but if you're thinking of getting one, join us ➤➤ Lunatic Fringe

  11. #10
    Mystagogue Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    The Ocelot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Inside the Puzzle Box
    Posts
    16,773
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Susan W. View Post
    I saw the title and said to myself "What?" No way two could break at the same time. I sure hope that pulse thing was the problem. I don't power vape so I've never had this happen.
    I learned about pressing the center of the button after the power just stopped in the middle of a vape.
    roonies and Susan W. like this.
    ProVarinati Princess ~ Infanta del Phidiae-Reo ~ Baroness Boboni of Sigeleiland
    CASAA Member

    No one needs a ProVari, but if you're thinking of getting one, join us ➤➤ Lunatic Fringe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •