Rebuilding without an ohm meter?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Rebuilding without an ohm meter?

  1. #1
    Super Member ECF Veteran 1LastShot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    612

    Default Rebuilding without an ohm meter?

    I just sat down to rebuild a Ce5 head. I do not have an ohm meter. I am using cotton for my wick, and I read somewhere that when using cotton, the only thing that will happen if there is a short, is that it just won't work. Now I am second-guessing myself.
    Am I right?

    I don't want to like, blow up or anything.

    i will be putting this head on a puck-style mod, 4AAA.

    Wife of 1lasttime

  2. #2
    Valar Morghulis Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Fury83's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    3,067

    Default

    I would get a multimeter. $10-$15 to test your atty's and batteries.
    Statistic likes this.
    classwife>kevbow

  3. #3
    Ultra Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    unloaded's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    SW. Indiana
    Posts
    2,492

    Default

    The worst that can happen is your battery blowing up in your face. Not probable but possible. The material of the wick has no real bearing on the effects of a short. I've always had a hard time getting a good reading with a multimeter, even good ones. I've got a couple mods that I use to check resistance. If I didn't have them I'd get one of the test boxes with the 510 threads. They seem to work pretty good, are simple and reliable.
    Statistic and vernhall like this.

  4. #4
    Super Member ECF Veteran 1LastShot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    612

    Default

    I have a Cen-tech multimeter but I can't figure out how to check ohms on it.

    Wife of 1lasttime

  5. #5
    Super Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    cedric212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    568
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1LastShot View Post
    I have a Cen-tech multimeter but I can't figure out how to check ohms on it.
    Nice Youtube tutorial showing how to use Centech DMM to measure battery voltage and resistance of atomizer:

    How to test battery voltage and atomizer resistance. - YouTube (for resistance, start @~1:00).
    1LastShot likes this.

  6. #6
    Moved On Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SOCAL, USA
    Posts
    951

    Default

    just put the leads in (red on red and black on black) turn the dial to "ohms" shuold be the ohm symbol. then put one lead on the center pin of the atomizer and the other on the case/ threads of the connector then you should be able to read the resistance.

    edit black on the comm port and the red in the middle port.
    Last edited by E_DeCastro; 06-05-2013 at 10:55 PM.
    1LastShot likes this.

  7. #7
    Moved On Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SOCAL, USA
    Posts
    951

    Default

    just looked at the harbor freight site and you have to turn the dial to the lower left hand and put it on 200.

  8. #8
    Super Member ECF Veteran 1LastShot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    612

    Default

    Thank you very much! I am now good to go! Got an accurate reading on several different brand new heads, so I know I'm doin it right!
    E_DeCastro likes this.

    Wife of 1lasttime

  9. #9
    Moved On Verified Member
    ECF Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    SOCAL, USA
    Posts
    951

    Default

    good for you.

  10. #10
    Super Member ECF Veteran 1LastShot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    612

    Default

    Erm....I thought I was good to go. Can't seem to get an accurate read on any rebuild I have done so far.

    6 wraps of 34ga kanthal gave me 6.4
    5 wraps gave me 3.1...then 2.1....then it wouldn't settle down at all for me to get a read...but it will still read a factory 1.8 head as 1.8.

    Wife of 1lasttime

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks