2 problems with this site - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: 2 problems with this site

  1. #11
    PV Master Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Rickajho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    9,398

    Default

    I know Tibs and I agree. I'm just saying that this has been a chronic question for several weeks now. It just pops up inviting you to "click me" to get the thing to work, but the code doesn't load so clicking gets you nowhere. So the questions about it not working keep coming.

    The Basic Uploader link is right there. Don't know why more people don't just click on that either and see what happens. More people get themselves into trouble clicking on things in e-mails they should not anyway yet they don't seem to see that Basic Uploader link. Dunno.

  2. #12
    PV Master ECF Veteran r77r7r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    5,177

    Default

    Seems to be ECF only. Other forums like this one load From Computer fine. Now that option is completely gone. URL only.

    FF on Win7.

  3. #13
    Administrator Team ECF (folding@home)
    Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    retired1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,825
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Other forums may not have removed the feature. And they're regret it eventually.

    When selecting the uploader, make sure you select "basic uploader". This will allow you to upload from your computer.

    You can also upload photos via the "Manage Attachments" button on the "Advanced" editor.

  4. #14
    Ultra Member* ECF Veteran omyeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Las Vapors, NV
    Posts
    1,820

    Default

    I guess I'll have to repeat myself for those of you who do not understand.

    When I click on the "Insert Image" button, it goes straight to "Add an Image from Url" box.

    I cannot even get the "basic uploader" anymore.
    tiburonfirst likes this.





  5. #15
    Ω Destroyer Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Killjoy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    9,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickajho View Post
    The Basic Uploader link is right there. Don't know why more people don't just click on that either and see what happens.
    Can you post a screenshot? I don't see it anywhere on any of the skins, I cycled through all but the mobile ones (using FF in Win7)

    Like tibs, I use external hosts rather than forum attachments, but was looking around to try and help the OP and I experience the same thing they describe
    Last analog: 2-23-2011

    Current Gear: Darwin, SS GGTS #882, Ωpus-D, iHy Illuminati & Pure, Precise ELA, Simplicity 350Ti, Black Copper Stingray #459

  6. #16
    They call me 'Tibs" Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    tiburonfirst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    18,928

    Default

    i will check and see if anything has changed for me since the last time i looked .....
    ..............

  7. #17
    They call me 'Tibs" Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    tiburonfirst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    18,928

    Default

    select files - not working

    basic uploader functional - see test in sandbox

    http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/for...hoto-test.html

    plenty of people testing pictures there, wonder why?
    ..............

  8. #18
    Ω Destroyer Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    Killjoy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire, US
    Posts
    9,276

    Default

    D'oh! Nevermind my post. I was trying to test it out in THIS forum . . . totally forgot attachments are disabled here

    So yes, in the sandbox (and other forum sections) I can see the "basic uploader" link as well as the other options that don't show when I try it here in Feedback and Help


    to the OP, if you're running a script blocker try disabling it and see what happens. I know that was a problem for me with the "more smileys" button after one of the forum upgrades a while back. Sorry, but that's about the only suggestion I got at the moment. Hope you get it sorted
    Last edited by Killjoy1; 01-15-2014 at 11:54 PM.
    tiburonfirst likes this.
    Last analog: 2-23-2011

    Current Gear: Darwin, SS GGTS #882, Ωpus-D, iHy Illuminati & Pure, Precise ELA, Simplicity 350Ti, Black Copper Stingray #459

  9. #19
    Forum Manager Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    Supporting Member
    rolygate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    7,813

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickajho View Post
    If the flash version isn't going to work again why not just remove it from the process?
    Good point. We will get around to that in the next tranche of coding, probably.


    Tech stuff
    Basically vBulletin has too many problems now. Their best coders all moved to the XenForo forum software firm, and that is now the market leader. The people at vB are less capable and they can't (and won't) fix many issues. Now the major plugin we use, vbSEO, has gone - this will cause us huge problems.

    There is an exploit of the Flash uploader to YUI that vB uses, so it has been disabled in the latest patches. vB forums still running it are wide open. We have to keep our system locked down tight because previous hacking caused major problems due to the size of our installation, its complexity, and the large number of customisations, servers and apps. Adobe software is a nightmare for security, ideally it's best to steer clear of anything from them being used on the web, it's a disaster waiting to happen (just my personal opinion). Everything they make has holes like a Swiss cheese (JMPO).

    We would move to XenForo tomorrow if it wasn't such a nightmare project for a board like ECF. Plus some of our plugins would need to be custom coded for XF, like iTrader. Nevertheless it's almost certain we will move to XF at some point, especially now vbSEO has gone.
    MamaTried likes this.
    Forum Manager - contact
    more vapers = less oppression

  10. #20
    ECF Guru Verified Member
    ECF Veteran
    tmcase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Rave's neighbor!
    Posts
    18,138

    Default

    I've been having the same problem the OP mentioned in #2. All that has been covered here is the uploader.

    When I click on "more emoticons" a small box opens up but won't let me scroll down. I can maximize the little box and then see all the emoticons so that I can live with but now I'm having the same problem when I hover my curser over "Replies and Views" on a subscribed thread. I get a small box and can maximize it but none of the post counts for each member have links to their posts. If I click on their post number in the little box I get a link. Why is there no link when I maximize the box?

    This last problem just started recently and yes, I've clear history and cache, using Chrome with Win7.

    Life is short, bend the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, live passionately and never forget anything that made you smile.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks