Making Glass tanks
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Making Glass tanks

Unregistered Supplier

Default Making Glass tanks

Hi guys I'm fairly new here, and I've been vaping for about six months. I'm a glassblower at my day job and so I have been thinking of different ways to make glass tanks. I like the idea that pyrex has a very high resistance to chemical breakdown, and should in theory last much longer, as long as it's not dropped and broken. So today I made my first "prototypes". I made them to fit XL Smoktek 1.5 ohm carto with the flange on the bottom.

For this I have used the delrin end caps that come with your standard 6ml DCT tank (I believe made by Smoktek). I found the glass tubing that fits these end caps very well (which was half the battle). For my next project I want to make a glass tank with stainless steel end caps, I like the look of them much more and I believe that they will last longer than delrin. I have purchased a set of spare stainless ends caps to try out, but I was wondering if anyone had any advice about getting some machined to the specs that I would want. I have never done any metal working myself and it seems a bit overwhelming at this point.

So far I dont have any leaks, and it seems to hold upwards of 6ml of juice. It looks a bit big but that is because I wanted to use heavy walled pyrex tubing, so that it is a strong as possible. Pyrex tubing that is the same size as the polycarbonate tubing that comes standard on these tanks would shatter on the first drop.

If anyone else is trying to make glass tanks out of pyrex, and has any question about it please ask me. I have been working with pyrex for 6 years so I know the answers to most of the problems you would most likely come across.

I will upload some pictures and would welcome any feedback on the new tanks.

IMAG0172.jpgIMAG0174.jpg

Senior Member Verified Member
    ECF Veteran