Aluminum Danger Protank 3 Mini Coils?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jfar

Moved On
Aug 16, 2013
Seattle
Hello, I'm a newbie on this forum. I've been vaping for 2 years.

Does anyone have any information on the vape = inhaling aluminum particle connection?

I assume they're talking about the heating elements. I've been using the Kangertech Protank Mini line so I emailed the company asking what materials are used on their heating elements. No reply....

I'm getting a little worried. Any info greatly appreciated.

Signmaker

Oct 26, 2014
Berks, Pennsy, 'Murrica
The heating element (coil) in KT heads is not aluminum, they use Kanthol. The housing surrounding the coil is aluminum. You have no danger of "inhaling aluminum particles", unless the coil goes full blown Chernobyl for some reason.

As far as the aluminum leeching into the ejuice and being vaporized, if the science carries over from the camping cookware world, you would have to seriously overheat the coil for an extended peroid of time for that to happen (>200f).

Jfar

Moved On
Aug 16, 2013
Seattle
What dangers are you specifically referring to jfar?

I've not seen any controversy regarding the use of aluminium in the Kanger heads. Do you have a link or can you share some information?

Are you talking about the risks associated with using Kanthal wire?

I haven't heard any controversy regarding Kanger coil heads in particular. I just thought that if other coils have this aluminum issue, it's possible that Kagers'coils could have the same issues as well.

What was the problem with Kanthal wire?

wheelie

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 12, 2014
Ont. Canada
www.independentont.com
I don't believe autherntic Kanger coils are Kanthol. Clean them and when you dry burn them sometimes they melt and pop. When I build Kanthol coils I can take out wicks dry burn them and they don't pop or even lose their shape. I would need a whole lot of proof to believe stock coils are Kanthol.

InTheShade