DIY Regulated Box Mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

naiser

Verified Member
Aug 25, 2014
Hamilton, ON
Hello, all! I've been vaping for about 10 months now, and I'm getting itch to tinker around, albeit safely. I'm wondering if any of you out there may be able to help me with a regulated mod idea I've got, because I would love to try my hand at building a DIY box that's safe and regulated. I want it to be able to get into sub ohm tanks as well, but I know the board can take it.

I want to have it so the 2 LiPo battery packs are together to provide 4400mAh and take the tactile switch off the vamo board (if safe and/or possible) and change it to a SPST switch as shown in the pic attached. Other than that, I'm just wondering if there's a need for any MOSFETs, and what type I should get for it and a basic idea of wiring needed. Regulated Mod idea.jpg

drmarble

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 8, 2014
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
You won't need a mosfet. That usb charger looks like a mini-usb which is not as common a cable. You can get micro usb chargers on ebay (10 for $7 us shipped from china). Since you already have to mount the board to access the up/down buttons and screen you could just use the built in switch but any normally open switch should work. It doesn't need any high specs, 250ma is plenty.
Just wire the batteries to the correct plus and minus to the red and black input wires on the vamo v8 board. Connect the charger wires there too. Connect the 510 ground (body) to the battery - and the 510 plus (pin) to that thing sticking out of the end opposite the battery wires (at least, I think that is the 510 + out). You should use 18 gauge stranded wire for the battery and 510 connectors. The usb charger wires can be very thin.
I think this should work. Good luck.
edit: Lots of good information here: Keep that mod open!

Mooch

Electron Wrangler
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
  • May 13, 2015