Status
Not open for further replies.

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Cowtown, USA. Where the West begins.
Vape Jam has been around for a while and they're supposed to make good gear. I have no experience with it personally. But if I were going to buy a two-battery box mod--I have-- I'd buy a regulated box-- I did-- and not a mech. You can buy a Snow Wolf 200w TC machine online for half that money-- that's the one I picked and I love it-- or a Segelei 150w non-TC for less. The Hexohm 2.1 VV machine is under $200-- I want one-- and makes 110 watts. Any of those are much safer and make more power than you can safely get out of a two-battery parallel box. And no matter what you do, buy good batteries-- authentic Sony VTC4s for preference-- from a reputable vendor.

DaveSignal

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 23, 2014
Maryland
I would build it far lower than .3 ohm. Maybe if doing dual coil, .3 per coil would be great, IMO, putting the total resistance at around .15.

ETA: With a dual parallel like that lethal box, you increase the safe amperage capability and the mah. So with two 20A batteries, you now have a 40A CDR.

With dual series, you increase the voltage, but CDR remains the same.

Reactions: DiscoRanger

DaveSignal

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 23, 2014
Maryland
4pJijpU.jpg

Thats a 24g build using dual parallel coils. On a dual battery mech. It is fantastic.

Reactions: QU1T

DaveSignal

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 23, 2014
Maryland
That looks like it could take some time to heat up haha
oh no. Thats 24g kanthal wrapped in parallel (6 wraps) around a 2mm screwdriver. It probably takes about a second for the coils to glow inside to out. Maybe less than a second. I don't know what you consider time to heat up, but this what it looks like within a second after I hit the fire switch:
VsoqFd9.jpg