Help me with a Dark Horse RDA coil build please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocko1290

Sep 21, 2013
Allen, TX
I'm just getting into the Dark Horse coming from an RSST. I was using a build that the ecig shop made for me, it was pretty large wire, I'd say 24 maybe even 22ga wire, 5 wraps, dual coil. I don't know what the resistance measured (I'm sure some of you vape pros would know just by hearing the build type). But I had a couple different problems with this build. Firstly it was just way too damn hot, to the point it was burning my lips. 2nd, I noticed all the guys up at the shop (and even some guys I've seen using the Dark Horse on YouTube) all rip it hardcore. Like they're not taking a drag like any normal person would off a cigarette, they are inhaling hard as hell and deeply to the point you can hear the suction and inhaling it all the way into the bottom of their lungs. I was not able to get good vapor production with this build unless I did that too. Do you have to do this to get any kind of decent vape production with the Dark Horse? It's not something I want to do, I'm not smoking a ...., I'm trying to get the flavor and taste and inhale like I would a cigarette and having to inhale deeply like that to get good vape production kind of defeats the whole purpose in my opinion, it doesn't really allow you to savor the taste and vape casually as you would a cigarette.

Anyways, I have 2 different sizes of Kanthal to work with, one of them is 28ga and the other is what I'm pretty sure is the next size larger at 26ga.

Desired type of vape:
-Not too hot to where it's burning my lips, but not too cold either (just right, like Goldilocks haha).
-Don't have to inhale hard and deeply to the bottom of my lungs to get good vape clouds.
-Don't have to hit for more than a few seconds to get good vape clouds (I can't stand having to take more than a 5 second drag to get the hit I want, I want it to be comparable to a cigarette hit, 3-4 seconds tops)