I HAVE A QUESTION!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anthony zucco

Aug 14, 2015
Ok, well i just got my 1st rda, its a troll, on a smpl mod, my question is, how many wraps would i wrap to get .8ohms on a duel coil 24 gauge , i think the vape shop i go to has me at .5 (5 wraps) with 24 gauge kenthal and it is seriousky kills my battery in a hour is that normal? Its a vtc 4, im very new to rdas and i have been on steam engin caulculator and it really confuses me! For target resistance i put .8 and it says 30 wraps that dont seem right!! Please help!!

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014
Cowtown, USA. Where the West begins.
.8 is a good place to be on that rig; maybe a little too high even. @Mooch is right about using Steam Engine, but if you're really after .8 in a dual set up, you need two 1.6 coils. 24 ga is far too big to achieve that and have it be a functional coil. I just hit Steam Engine myself for that. On a 2mm mandrel you'd need a pair of 24/23 wrap coils. On 3mm you'd need 18/17s. The problem with coils that long is the coil will burn the juice out of the wick before it can get to the center of the coil and you'll get dry hits all the time. Ideally, you want your wraps to be in the 5-10 range. 28 ga will give you a very nice 8/7 wrap system. I used to use that very one for my car mod. It was a MMV Nanos 18350, and .8 was a low as I wanted to go on it. Those coils work very nicely. I usually coil my drippers in the .5-.7 range for a single battery tube mod. And have a care with that SMPL. They're famous for causing a short at the battery top because they have no center pin. Make sure your topper has a clearly protruding center post that can contact the battery positive pole without coming close to the outer 510 threads. I guarantee you a short right there will ruin your day, and your mod and maybe your hands and face.

suprtrkr

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2014