Kanger mini protank re-wick

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuzko

Verified Member
Oct 19, 2013
Los santos
So I just got my mini protank and I'm done using silica wicks because they make my lungs and airways irritated so I want to use either hemp or cotton wicks now. Every re-wicking tutorial involves making ur own coil as well, is it possible just to slide the silica wick out of the existing new coil and then just slide my new wick back through the existing coil? Also is there any natural fiber that can hold up to heat like silica, I don't want any chance of burning, I use very thick juice.

Kuzko

Verified Member
Oct 19, 2013
Los santos
What would be causing the issues? I have been vaporizing for 5+ years using a volcano w bags and my throat and lungs have never felt as weird as they do with these e cig silica wicks. And now all of this stuff about silica particles lodging themselves in lung tissue... Yuck. I just want something safe, that will get the job done, and don't make the protank flood.

Jonathan Tittle

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
Sep 7, 2013
Johnson City, TN, USA
xanderjuice.com
Silica is designed to withstand higher temperatures. You're not going to find a common natural fiber that you can use to wick and that will hold up against such high ranges of temperatures (up to 1,100-1,200 F).

Cotton works extremely well, but you can't under any circumstances dry burn it - this applies to other fibers as well (butchers twine, hemp etc). Cotton will do the job, will produce vapor and will give you all that silica does (based on my exp. - cotton is all I use), but you have to keep it wet, otherwise you're going to get an equally nasty dry burning hit.