Lowest ohms I can safely vape on my battery

Status
Not open for further replies.

phaide

Dec 7, 2014
Florida
Got my 1st mech mod from my local B&M the other day. I've got an MXJO 18650 2500mah 3.7v battery. After looking around online, the general consensus is that this battery is just a re-wrap of the lg 18650 he2. Had I known that I probly wouldn't have bought it.. but I'm new to this and I had no idea. Now I'm going to spout off what I think I know and you tell me if I'm right or not. Since it's just a rewrapped lg 18650 he 2, the actual continuous amperage is 20a. I was told somewhere that it's not a good idea to make a build that uses more than 60-70% of your amp rating. So, erring on the side of caution, 60% of my 20a is 12. So, .35ohm setup is the lowest I can safely go... Right?

Mooch

Electron Wrangler
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
  • May 13, 2015
    Somebody please just tell me what is the lowest ohm I can safely use for this battery. Don't point me to some complex crap that I won't be able to understand. I'm new to mechs and I've been reading up on it. But for now, all I need is a simple answer to keep me safe until I learn all the technical stuff.

Assuming it's an HE2 (which it might not be)...
    0.35 ohms = should be safe. It will keep the battery running cool (extending its life) and you won't boil the battery if your button gets stuck on or breaks.

As you learn all the technical stuff you'll be able to work out if you can push that battery any further.

Reactions: phaide

Haadkoe

ECF Veteran
    May 17, 2011
    Assuming its a rewrapped he2, stay above .25 on that battery and you'll be safe. .20 if you're feeling particularly brazen, but that's pushing it.

If you want to go lower, get a box mod with 2 18650's wired in parallel or a regulated mod.

Fwiw, lower ohm's on a mech isn't necessarily "better". Many experienced mech/rda users find their sweet spot to be between .3-.4, usually closer to .4.

Reactions: phaide

Baditude

ECF Guru