New To Building Coils, Please Help!?!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone, ive been vaping for like 4 years but just got into coil building. I just got a subtank mini a couple months ago and have been messing around with the rba deck. Heres the problem I have horrible ADD and am horrible at math..but ive got the basic building parts down..for right now all I have to work with is 30g kanthal, and a coil jig. Now, i know how to wrap, and i know how to wick, but i just cant figure out or seem to get right how many wraps or the right diameter to make this damn coil.. its driving me crazy.. i keep getting it to read at around 1.4 - 1.7 and i really want around .5 can anyone please help???? (without yelling at me about math)

dbrandt01

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 6, 2014
Alabama
Coil wrapping | Steam Engine | free vaping calculators

Seeing has how the subtank mini RBA deck is single coil, well people have done dual coils before.

If you did a single coil, 2.5mm diameter you would need 1 wrap which isn't going to work. If you can twist 3 strands together and wrap it at 2.5mm diameter you would need 7 wraps. The only way you're getting to 0.5 with 30g is twisting 3 strands. 30g isn't for subohm typically.

edyle

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2013
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad & Tobago