Nichrome for Dummies

Status
Not open for further replies.

AngryCagen

ECF Veteran
Mar 21, 2014
NOLA
www.facebook.com
I have been vaping for nearly 2 years now. I started out spending hundreds a week and was "any new product chasing" for a while. But I have settled down a little. But I still love to buy new products, just not every Friday, Saturday, Tuesday......I'm sure we have all been there... I've learned to wait a couple weeks or more to get a solid opinion and also save some coin...

Anyway, I have not tried nichrome to this day yet. I make my own juice, I build my own coils and don't always find the time to make tigerwire or clapton wire or the latest alienwire quad-ripple staircase jigsaw spiral vertical rotating coil on a daily basis...... haha... but i would if I had the time... So I typically use 24, 26 or 28 G A1 Kanthal for my builds. The Macro coil is my go-to either single or double. I either use my DNA 30, istick 50w or just one of my regular mech mods. But currently I do not own a temperature controlled device.......yet....

With that said, I always thought that nichrome was intended for temp control devices only. But that is why I am here asking for the breakdown. I have recently seen videos with Nikrothal being used on a mech mod, which we know is not temp control. So is it safe on a mech mod because there is no circuit to short and to only use on a mech or temp control device? Or can I make a dual macro build on my Mutation x v4 and run it on my istick 50w? I really just need a link to the breakdown or if someone can give me the breakdown here to fully understand and also help others when asked.

I appreciate all the help here as always. The ECF has been there for me since day one. Such an amazing and informative place we can all use and appreciate. So thanks again in advance.

shreduhsoreus

ECF Veteran
Jan 6, 2015
Indianapolis
For temp control, you're thinking of nickel wire.