Question Re: TrustFire IMR18350 Li-ion Unprotected Rechargeable Batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

nettles4349

Aug 11, 2013
New Jersey
Allow me to preface this question by saying that I am not an expert when it comes to electrical wiring and batteries. I found a good price on TrustFire IMR 18350 Li-ion 3.7V 800mAh unprotected rechargeable batteries. So far I've only used the Efest IMR 18350 LiMn 3.7V 800mAh rechargeable batteries and the Efest IMR 18650 LiMn 3.7V 2250mAh rechargeable batteries too. I use them in my VAMO V3. Will these TrustFire IMR Li-ion batteries be safe to use in my VAMO? Would they be safe to use in a mechanical mod (I'm considering getting one)? Also would I be able to safely charge them in my TrustFire TR-001 battery charger? Any knowledgeable input would be hugely appreciated. Thank you.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I wouldn't use unprotected batteries in any PVD and most certainly a mechanical mod. You got an unprotected device with a unprotected battery you are just waiting on something to light the fuse.
Untrue. One must stay current with modern battery technology before making such statements.

IMR (Li-Mn) batteries are safe chemistry batteries which are "un-protected" because they are inherently safer than ICR batteries, which are made from a volatile (flamable) chemistry requiring IC protection in order to be sold and used in products. At one time, protected ICR batteries were the recommended batteries for our mods. This is no longer true.

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/ecf-library/129569-rechargeable-batteries.html

Battery Basics for Mods: IMR or Protected ICR?

Deeper Understanding of Mod Batteries

Mechanical Mod Proper Usage Guide