Rda blew fire in my mouth

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nacholad

Mar 25, 2015
So I've been vaping for about two months now and have learned a bit but never have I experienced something this frightening. I have a lt infinite with 6 wrap .22 gauge dual coil kanthal. I'm getting a .2 ohm resistance. I've been using this same setup for a month now and it's never caught Fire even with the cap off. The wicks were thuroughly soaked in max vg liquid (Id say 80% at least). I'm only hitting it on 75 watts. Took one hit and all of a sudden it made a boom sound and burned the hell out of my mouth. What caused this? How can I prevent it? Any help would be appreciated because I enjoy vaping but I don't want to inhale fire. I got lucky and somehow didn't burn my throat or inhale the fire.

Semiretired

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Sep 24, 2011
Middle Georgia
lucky, actually, that the whole thing doesn't go off in your hand...

I will second that. Tone it down a bit... This is not a contest for who can push the limits the most - it is a method to stop smoking and maybe enjoy life a little more and maybe a little longer.

RandyF

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 1, 2013
Arizona
At 0.2 Ω and 75 watts, you pushing 375 amps.... lucky, actually, that the whole thing doesn't go off in your hand...

It's just under 18 amps, well within reason.

To the OP: Not sure why it did what it did, you are not really pushing too hard, but do you best to make sure everything is what it is suppose to be when you are sub-ohming.

RuDawg7890

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 19, 2013
Sinking Spring, PA, USA
First off, glad to hear that you were ok!
It does concern me that you say "only 75 watts"! 75 watts is a good amount of power. To be putting up to your mouth for sure! Not that it can't be safely done, but one should be aware that it is more than "only".