Status
Not open for further replies.

mamabear15

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 28, 2015
USA
Disclaimer: I'm a rookie, I don't yet know half what I'd want to know before rebuilding a coil - I have lessons planned from a buddy, but it's gonna be awhile

So, that said - can I just reWICK this thing?! Kanger Protank 3, yes it's dual coil and for that reason I can't find a YouTube video... I've done the t3s before (yep, started there) and I know they're compatible in that direction, I could use those rewicked in the protank 3, but I like the vape better on the protank coil... I've gotten it open and couldn't get the coils apart from each other to get to the bottom one without destroying the top one. Granted, I only tried once!!

If it helps, I've got old ones of both the ones that came with the pt3 (dual coil, short almost nonexistent metal thing sticking up off the base) and the replacement ones (still dual coil, but taller metal thing sticking up off the base) I believe the metal thing is called a chimney from what I've read, but it's hard for this rookie to tell for sure what is being referred to by a term I don't know

So enjoy a good laugh at my ignorance (I am myself especially while typing that last paragraph!!) but if y'all can educate me I'd be forever grateful!!!!

93gc40

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Oct 5, 2014
California
yes you can rewick the dual coil heads.... It's a PIA and to be honest recoiling the head is easier. I found that the best builds for my Mini PT3 were single vertical coils wicked with cotton, I run 1.8-2ohms in mine. The Vertical coil makes rewicking easy, also less leakage and gurgling.. You just pluck out the old with tweezers, gently dry burn and stuff new in. Lightning Vapes has spare parts, for the kanger heads.

mamabear15

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 28, 2015
USA