Safe Battery for sub ohm coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

BreeZe098

Apr 21, 2015
cosat mesa ,CA
Hi, It's my first post. I will be appreciated if someone answered my question.

I've been vaping sub ohm tank for 6 months. I'm trying to start building sub ohm coils. I was researching about the safety and found out that I have to use safe battery but I don't know anything about it.

Can someone tell me what kind of battery do I have to use (amp) and why does it have to be that kind of battery?

Thank you.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
These blogs will explain & answer your questions:

This isn't rocket science, but you do need to have a basic understanding of Ohm's Law and use the appropriate batteries to sub-ohm safely. Basically, the heating coil will pull a predetermined amount of current (found with an Ohm's Law calculator) from the battery. You must not exceed the amp limit (CDR or continuous discharge rate) of the battery or very bad things may happen. Best case scenario (regulated mod) is the mod will refuse to fire the coil if exceeding the amp limit; worse case scenario (mechanical mod) is the battery will go into thermal runaway, vent gas, and possibly explode.

• If you use sub-ohm resistance coils (0.2 - 0.8 ohms) on a mech mod or high wattage regulated mod, your first priority must be for a high amp IMR battery of 20 - 30 amps CDR (maximum continuous discharge rate). Coils under the resistance of 1.0 ohm require more amp power due to their higher amp draw. Use the appropriate battery with an adequate amp rating depending upon the current draw of your coil build (*see the chart immediately below for coil amp draw vs amp rating).
* Coil amp draw from Ohm's Law calculations for Mechanical Mods:

1.0 ohm = 4.2 amp draw
0.9 ohm = 4.6 amp draw
0.8 ohm = 5.2 amp draw ---> requires a battery of at least 10 amps CDR
0.7 ohms = 6 amp draw
0.6 ohms = 7 amp draw