Should I upgrade my battery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tfraley

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Good day guys.

I'm new to rebuilding and want your guys thoughts on if I should upgrade my batteries

Hardware:
  • TugBoat (brass)
  • Nemesis mod clone (brass)
  • Upgraded magnet switch & some pollshing
  • 24g Kath

Plan:
My plan is to hit close to .25ohms with 24g Kat. I used a buddy at this ohm and I became very fond of it.

Current Build:
26g Kat at .7 -.8phms

Problem:
Safety always coming first I wonder if I should upgrade my batteries and want some input from more experienced vapers then myself.

The math:
So wanting to .25 Ohms with a 3.7v (18650) were looking at 14.4 amps and around 54.76 watts

The battery:
I'm currently using MNKE IMR-18650 1500mAh 3.7v Orange batteries (picked up at local vape shop with my mod a few months ago)

I'm seeing Manufacture specs ranging from 20A-25A continuous discharging rate and pulsing about 80A

Main Question:
Is the 6A head room (20A-14A=6A) enough to be safe
IMG_0693.jpg

I was thinking about picking up a pair of Efest 18650 35A 2500mAh 3.7v amazon (if they were prime I would of ordered them already and none of the local shops have them)

tfraley

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Thanks,

I just ordered a pair of Efest 18650 35A 2500mAh just to be on the safer side but I do feel better.

Basic question what kind of signs do you look for if your pushing the battery to hard.

ie gradual build up of head in the mod while vaping? or will it be instant, like a 5sec boom.?

State O' Flux

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 17, 2013
Seattle
Basic question what kind of signs do you look for if your pushing the battery to hard.
I don't push too hard. I never run below 0.3Ω, so anything with an 18a or better continuous discharge rating provides more than enough cushion. Calculate a conservative 1.5X CDR for your momentary discharge at an equally conservative 10 seconds... and I have no worries.