Should newbies start with something with 510 threads?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Speedsix

Aug 18, 2013
Indiana
Im a newbie myself. I've been vaping for about two months but I'm not completely off analogs yet. Making progress which is great. I'm about 75% off analogs but keep a pack around for security when my devices fail me in some way.

One thing I wish I knew was the fact that 510 threads seem to becoming more or less the standard. I bought a Halo k808 set as my first rechargeable set. It's fine but I wish I had gone with something 510 instead. Every other device I have bought since (Ego, Vamo) can use 510. My Halos are kind of orphaned now. I still use them but can't put the cartos on the ego battery which would be nice since I do enjoy a carto vape.

My my progress was fairly normal, gas station disposables, rechargable cig-a-likes, Ego, Vamo.

InTheShade

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 26, 2013
South Texas
510 for sure give you more options of toppers. Add to that that a lot of devices now come with 510 inside and ego threads outside and you pretty much have 85-90% of all the toppers for sale covered. I personally would always recommend a 510 / ego threaded device to all new vapers.

A lot of the other thread types are now proprietary - meaning you have to buy that particular carto / tank for refills.

Saying that, you can usually find adapters for virtually all thread types. So if you don't want to buy a new battery, but want to use a different topper, then you can do a quick google search for an adapter and you'll probably find one for a few bucks.

Amberina

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 6, 2013
Las Vegas, NV
My Volcano Inferno has 510 threading but a lot of tanks etc don't work with them because they do not have the ego threading as well. I would recommend something with the 510/ego threading because that is pretty much the standard threading now on most delivery devices (tanks, cartomizers, clearomizers etc).

nova_did_it