Status
Not open for further replies.

acrosstheveil

Verified Member
Sep 8, 2014
Manassas, VA
I am just getting into mech mods and I find I like building coils around .2 ohms. I have been told not to go below .2 ohm with a sony vtc battery (not sure which one i have). Looking at ohms law, it seems I should be able to go down to .14 ohms with a 30 amp continuous discharge. correct me if I'm wrong. The safe battery megathread says its unsafe under .4 ohms which doesn't really make sense to me. Can someone please enlighten me on this?

what are other batteries I can use that are actually in stock? Every place i've looked it is impossible to find the good sony batteries.

Shynobi

Verified Member
Oct 7, 2014
Bay Area
Take a look at some XTAR VTC4s, which are pretty much just Sony VTC4s rebranded. You can also find VTC4s on eBay for a decent price, the only thing is to make sure its authentic. VTC4s are considerably cheaper to buy right now than the VTC5s and the only difference really is the VTC5 has more mAh. 2600(?) mAh for the VTC5 and 2100 for the VTC4.

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
Alternatives are

Orbtronic sx30 2100mah 30a CDR.
Sony VTC4 2100mah 30a CDR.
Xtar 2100mah 30a CDR - re wrapped vtc4.

The reason most folks don't recommend going super low sub ohm is to leave headroom / safety cushion.
Bump a coil, have a screw come loose & resistance can change, then there is the accuracy of what you use to measure resistance and fake / re wrapped fictitiously rated marketing hype batteries to consider.

Smart / safe sub ohm vaper leave x / % amps under the CDR of the battery for safety reasons.

Last edited:

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada
MXJO batteries are supposed to be rated at 35A continuous, 60A pulse. Whether these are rebranded / rewrapped cells remains to be seen