TugBoat: Hot.. Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

tfraley

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Good day guys

Ok really new to this so bear with me and please correct if i'm off on anything.

So my build

Head:
Tugboat: Brass
Drilled out air wholes to 1/8th inch on both sides.
Dual 5wrap coils (was build in local shop so not sure what type of wire and gage, still new at this)
When connecting the tugboat to a multimeter i'm reading between .7 - .8ohms​

mod:
Nemesis (clone)​

Battery:
MNKE IMR-18650
OK: So this could just be me but seems the vapor and or tip gets pretty hot. I don't seem to be able to pull long at all before it get hots. My thinking is it's not getting enough air, but I would hate to drill more whole and over air it. I'm very new to this so can be over looking basic fundamentals.

If anyone could lend a hand and help me troubleshoot this a bit further before taking to the drill press again. this would be helpful.

Some images and close up of coil.
Vapor 1.jpg
Vapor 2.jpg

k702

ECF Veteran
Feb 18, 2014
lost wages, sin city, NV
it looks like you have a ton of cotton and or juice in there, and the coils are sitting in said cotton/juice...

that will heat up the cotton and or juice and make the rda hot. It will also cause all sorts of popping and snapping and make the vape rather unpleasant because of lack of airflow around the coil. the coils need to have room for air to move around them (above and below).

unrelated but you should also work on getting those legs cut off as close as possible to the screw/post to minimize the possibility of shorts.

tfraley

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Do you have the air holes positioned directly in front of the coils? Are the coils at the same height as the air holes when the sleeve is installed?

There are two ways to cool the vapor down, air flow and/or higher ohms.

jaxgator: Yes I can see the coils right through the wholes.