Two very noobish questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve0311

Oct 19, 2013
NY, USA
Hello folks, still very new to vaping and these forums as well, so forgive me if these questions seem very noobish or if they have already been answered (a search didn't turn up anything).

First Question: Is it possible to over-charge and thus damage or destroy e-cig batteries? Specifically, I have 2 650 mah Halo Triton batteries (ego style) and I have several AW IMR 18650 and 18350 batteries that I can charge on an XTAR WP2. Just wondering if these batteries or ones like them have overcharge protection. The only time I ever seem to get to charge this stuff is at night when I go to sleep, so they will sit there for a good 7 hours on most nights.

Second Question: I just got my first dripping atomizers (3.0 ohm from Volcano for my new Lavatube 2.5) and I have more coming in from smartvapes.com with are 3.0 and 1.8 ohm I believe. I've never used these before, so I want to know how I can clean these to get rid of the primer fluid and also in case I want to use a different juice on the same atomizer. Is there a special cleaning method or can I run these under water and then gently towel dry? Do I just dry burn them until everything is burned off (seems like the wrong thing to do)

Thanks for any help!

Steam Turbine

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
May 3, 2013
Montreal Quebec Canada
Question #1: The AW IRM battery themselves do not have any form of protection whatsoever but your XTAR charger does. The XTAR will stop charging them when they reach 4.2 volts. It is always a good idea to check if they are indeed at 4.2 volts when they come out of the charger, if they are lower or higher, your batteries could be damaged or there is something wrong with the charger. Same thing with your "eGo's" (although I think that they actually contain electronic protection) use them with the proper charger and the charge will stop once they reach 4.2 volts.