Status
Not open for further replies.

vaperature

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Oct 8, 2013
Chicago
I've been reading about e-cigarettes and I keep coming across information from respectable mainstream media outlets that seems to me to be rather dubious. Granted, I'm new to vaping—still trying out my Fling Minis before thinking about getting my first actual kit—so some of what I've been reading has made me curious. The main claim I keep seeing repeated is that electronic cigarettes have anti-freeze in them, but I have also read that all e-cigarettes are made in China, that e-cigarettes don't lable the packages with a list of ingredients (all the ones I've tried do), that nicotine causes cancer and that e-cigs are actually MORE dangerous than analogs for one reason or another (usually the article gets vague about this even though making the claim).

Is any of this even remotely true, and if not, why would mainstream media report what seems to me to possibly be blatant lies (propaganda) and how can they legally get away with that (spreading slander)??

Penn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
May 19, 2013
In the wilderness
Yes it is true. Two stories on this.

It contains propylene glycol which is a NON-TOXIC antifreeze commonly used to de-ice planes before flight.

Second is the early days of vaping in the US. The FDA randomly grabbed some cartridges (that is all that was available then) and tested them. I think it was 2 or 3 of the 14 had minute trace amounts of "the other" type of antifreeze but within tolerance for other products. That hasn't been found since.

Penn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
May 19, 2013
In the wilderness
None of that is true of products now. My ProVari is made here in the USA, liquid lists the ingredients (PG, VG, flavoring, and nicotine). A lot of the negativity is from people protecting their interests in BT and/or BP.

Read my previous post. PG is used as antifreeze but it is non-toxic. It is important for us to have accurate information.

Baditude

ECF Guru