ALERT: Support TN Legislators' Effort to Stand up for Vapers!
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: ALERT: Support TN Legislators' Effort to Stand up for Vapers!

  1. #1
    Forum Supplier ECF Veteran muldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Easton, MD
    Posts
    1,553

    Default ALERT: Support TN Legislators' Effort to Stand up for Vapers!

    ALERT: Support TN Legislators' Effort to Stand up for Vapers!


    Members of the Tennessee State House of Representatives will soon hold a hearing on House Bill 1461.
    We support this bill that would make clear that electronic cigarettes are NOT taxed like tobacco products or banned from being used indoors under Tennessee law.



    As a company, we believe that electronic cigarettes are a smarter alternative for smokers to traditional cigarettes. Considering our products contain no tobacco and produce no smoke, it only makes sense that they should not be subject to harsh excise taxes or usage restrictions designed for combustible cigarettes.


    We are hoping that you can help educate your lawmakers on why you use electronic cigarettes and how they are different from traditional tobacco products.


    HOW YOU CAN HELP


    On Wednesday, February 19th at 10:15 AM, a committee in the Tennessee House of Representatives will hold a critical public hearing on HB 1461 (full bill text), the positive e-cigarette bill we referenced above. This meeting will be held at the State Capitol Building in Nashville (600 Charlotte Avenue) in Room HHR29. We strongly encourage you to attend, whether to testify to the committee and tell your story or to just show your support. (Optional: RSVP on the Facebook Event Page)


    If you cannot make it out to Nashville, please consider taking a few minutes of your time to reach out to the members and let them know that you SUPPORT the proposed electronic cigarette bill (HB 1461). Tell your personal story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life or the life of someone you love. Briefly explain in your own words why you donít believe e-cigarettes should be subject to tobacco taxes or smoking bans. Be sure to note where in Tennessee you live.


    E-mails to legislators do not have to be long or formal to be effective. So long as they are respectful and you communicate your support of HB 1461, even a very short e-mails to the legislators will be helpful!


    After contacting the members of the House Ways & Means Committee, we also encourage you to contact your State Representative and State Senator about this issue. (Find out who represents you in the Tennessee Legislature here)


    Please email or call the House Ways & Means Committee members below:


    All members: rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov, rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov, rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov, rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov, rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov, rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov, rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov, rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov, rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov, rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov, rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov, rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov, rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov, rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov, rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov, rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov, rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov, rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov, rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov


    Rep. Charles Sargent (Chairman) - rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-6808
    Rep. David Alexander - rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-8695
    Rep. Joe Armstrong - rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-0768
    Rep. Kevin Brooks - rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-1350
    Rep. Kent Calfee - rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-7658
    Rep. Mike Carter - rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-3025
    Rep. Barbara Cooper - rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-4295
    Rep. Craig Fitzhugh - rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-2134
    Rep. Steve Hall - rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-2287
    Rep. Mike Harrison - rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-7480
    Rep. David Hawk - rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-7482
    Rep. Matthew Hill - rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-2251
    Rep. Curtis Johnson - rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-4341
    Rep. Gerald McCormick - rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-2548
    Rep. Steve McDaniel - rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-0750
    Rep. Larry Miller - rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-4453
    Rep. Gary Odom - rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-4410
    Rep. Dennis Roach - rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-2534
    Rep. Johnny Shaw - rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov, 615-741-4538

  2. #2
    Forum Supplier ECF Veteran muldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Easton, MD
    Posts
    1,553

    Default

    Please consider taking a few minutes of your time to reach out to the members and let them know that you SUPPORT the proposed electronic cigarette bill (HB 1461). Tell your personal story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life or the life of someone you love. Briefly explain in your own words why you don’t believe e-cigarettes should be subject to tobacco taxes or smoking bans