Kanger Pro-Tank 2 Chemical Taste

Status
Not open for further replies.

Intervap

ECF Veteran
Jul 21, 2013
Port Huron, Mi
Pro-tank 2 came in the mail today and, by far, it beats out the iClear30s and Vivi Novas I own. Its already survived a 3 foot fall on hard wood floors (thank my dog).
But I keep getting this wretched chemical taste. It isn't consistent, sometimes I'll get an excellent vape. It is common enough for me to set it down until I can (hopefully) resolve this issue.
Things I've tried:
  • Rinsed and soaked all the parts, excluding the atomizer, in hot water.
  • Let it soak upright with a full tank for 2+ hours.
  • Continue vaping, hoping the taste would go away.
This makes me think that its the atomizer. I don't know how to clean (or if I can) the atomizer.
I'm relatively new to vaping and brand new to Kanger and bottom fed clearomizers, so its probably something quite obvious.:blush:

dokebilee

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 1, 2009
Queens, NY
I've taken apart to rebuild the protanks. The problem lies in the rubber 510 center pin grommet. The coil burns the rubber and omits fumes of rubber. Nasty taste I must say.

This. I've stopped using the Protank 2 exactly for this reason. I got my Protank 2 a few days ago, rebuilt the coils since I didn't like the stock coils. After heavy vaping for a full day, you can see burn marks on the rubber piece, and I believe that is what I tasted from time to time while vaping. You could attach NR wires to the Resistance wire, like how it is on the stock coils, but the only reason I bought the Protank 2 was for the ease of rebuilding, and adding NR wires beats the purpose of it.

Their is a another solution that I haven't tried. You could bend the positive wire in half up to the coil and twist it to lower the resistance, which will cause it to get less hot. Same thing with the Negative wire.

Jimi D.

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 26, 2010
Florida Keys