Hi All - from a shaken up Provari AW 18490 battery owner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lightboy

Sep 25, 2013
London, UK
Hi All... I'm new to vaping and splashed out on a provari mini after getting the idea with a JAC starter kit... unfortunately I've lost my confidence just a couple of months in because the AW battery exploded, spontaneously in my bag at work. (no, there was no metal in the cushioned pocket it was in). Thank goodness no one was hurt, even if a few of us are a bit shook up....:oops:

phot1o.jpg photo.jpg

So my advice to other newbies is be careful, think carefully about how "safe" these batteries really are (mine were apparently one of the safest and bought direct from ProVape) and whether you think the risk is worth taking! I can't believe the "gas vents extra safety" actually add anything except a false sense of security,

Even worse, the response from ProVape in the US where I got it from was appalling, in my opinion...

"I'm sorry to hear this happened! It can be dangerous to store a battery (any battery) in a bag, purse or pocket. The safest way to store them is in a plastic storage container."

So, seems storing them in your ecig, unless its plastic, is not a good idea; you have to take them out between vapes and put them in a plastic container - given the massive pressure, smoke and fire that came out of my bag you'll need a bullet proof plastic tub!!!

Oddly, no one sells them.

Just don't know how to make my hobby safer and what to believe anymore, clearly the big companies don't seem to care.. anyone who knows a safer route I'd love to hear it.

Cheers, Happy (safe) vaping, Doug

lightboy

Sep 25, 2013
London, UK
Is it at all possible that the mod was powered on and the fire button was continuously/repeatedly being pressed while in your bag?

Nah, the battery was with another one, out of the mod, in a soft pocket in my rucksack. Shorting or mod failure was not possible!