New to mech mods, please help me be safe.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuidaore

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 30, 2013
Socal
I actually didn't intend to get a mech mod/rba already, but after seeing the guys at my local B&M building some, I figured 'how hard can it be' -- right. (I'd walked in to get some juice and a Protank 2, and left with...something totally different.)

I picked up the KeCig K101 kit and Igo-L. I'm new to tinkering with electronics in general, assume I know nothing at this point and I'm trying to pick it up as I go.

I won't be doing sub-ohm vaping, as the last thing I need is another layer of complexity... :blush:

As far as I know, here's what I still need:

- multimeter
- spare batts (Panasonic NCR18650PD)
- charger (Nitecore i4)

I already ordered Kanthal 30 gauge from Temco and will be getting 2mm Ekowool from OKC or Stormy's.

I also saw the Vape Safe Fuse being mentioned in another thread and might get one too.

Is there anything else vital that I'm missing? After the paranoia kicked in I wasn't sure I had any business buying it in the first place, but I love the flavor I get out of it so I really want to figure this out without blasting my face (or fingers) off.

Thanks and sorry for the newb questions!

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I commend your concern for safety. RBA's demand more from our batteries than the standard run of the mill juice attachments, so high quality IMR or hybrid batteries are a must. The Panasonic PD's are a high quality hybrid battery and should be a good fit for you. The Nitecore i4 is an excellent charger which is also my primary charger.

The below blog on RBAs has detailed instruction on how to use a digital multimeter, resources of battery & mod safety, and links to videos on how to make wicks and coils.

I've made a battery guide for mod users: Battery Basics for Mods: IMR or Protected?