Why sub ohm

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm fairly new to rebuildables, and I love what I'm getting out of them so far. I haven't ventured into sub ohm setups, I'm quite happy with a 1.2 ohm single or dual coil setup. I don't understand the appeal of an unstable sub ohm set up that could potentially hurt oneself when you can operate at a safer resistance and simply up the voltage/ wattage.... Is there a significant enough difference in performance to risk injury if something were to go wrong? Why use a mechanical and run it at .2 ohms (or whatever) when you can use a 1.5 ohm coil on a provari or a dna20 or a vamo (or whatever) increase the output of the device, AND have the protection of the device? I've seen videos by riptrippers where he's getting vapor production equal to that of a mechanical sub ohm setup but he's at 15-18 watts on a coil that's not sub ohm, and it's much safer. Am I missing something here?

Also, it seems to me (based ignorantly and entirely on common sense) that in such a scenario of catastrophic failure resulting in a battery actually causing bodily harm, wouldn't it heat up sufficiently enough to warn the user? I feel like you would drop a superheated mod rather than grasp it, continue to vape, and blow your face off... Or is there something else that I should know?

drew2075

Sep 20, 2013
Burbank, Ca, USA
Of course it's dangerous if one doesn't know what to do in terms of sub ohming, but it's very, if not extremely important to understand the risks of sub coiling and the like if one doesn't understand some logistics of amps, voltage watts! I do love tinkering with electronics and ham radio stuff and building my own pc's, so getting into sub ohms was in my scope of things to try!

pianman6954

ECF Veteran
Aug 18, 2013
United States