Greetings and questions from an old smoker

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cee64E

Oct 29, 2013
Dayton, OH
Greetings. I am Cee64E and I am a -complete- beginner at this. I'm a grandfather and I have been a two-pack-a-day smoker for most of my life. I need to stop. My grandkids are just too much fun for me to be killing myself smoking. vaping looks like it could be an alternative. I can get one of my "eens" (the other being caffeine) and feed my hand-to-mouth habit without all the bad stuff my Marlboros give me.

I've tried a couple of cheap e-cigs, the kind they sell at gas stations that you throw away and was disappointed with the experience. I've gotten -dozens- of "free starter kit" ads via email (Thanks, Google :glare:) that are obvious rip-offs when you look at the fine print. And due to the huge number of vendors and makers out there willing to put up their own "reviews" site I'm more than a little hesitant to just go buy something.

A friend let me try his Tesla variable power unit. I was impressed with the volume of vapor and how quickly it responded compared to the ten dollar cheapos I had tried before (that big, honking battery at work). There is a local retailer that can get them and other brands but the starting cost of around 80 bucks is putting me off a bit. They have eGo (?) units that have slightly lower cost and not nearly the battery, or the features, of the Tesla.

So I guess my question is, is a beefy unit like the Tesla a worthwhile purchase? I'd rather not buy something that I'm just going to end up replacing later and I have no experience with the eGo, or any other serious vape unit. How does the eGo stack up? What are some other brands that I should consider?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

RubyRoo

ECF Veteran
Aug 12, 2013
Colorado Springs, CO