Pneumonia?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arkangel

ECF Veteran
Sep 30, 2009
Chicago Suburbs
Are you suggesting that because we're inhaling vapor that it'll condense in the lungs and fill them up with liquid?

Don't think there's much risk of that seeing as the PG used in the most common liquids is the same as that used in smoke/fog machines used in theatrical performances/rock concerts, etc. If everyone exposed to that came down with pneumonia, I'd think we'd have heard about it...:rolleyes:

VapingRulz

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 19, 2009
Florida
does anyone know if theres a risk of it? even vapor "water" can easily cause pneumonia or infection of the lungs. i know there havent been tests done yet but is anyone at all concerned? im no doctor but i just thought of that.

I'm not worried. I think you're far more likely to get pneumonia from smoking than you are from vaping. I had it last year and got a huge lecture from the doctor about the link between analogs and bronchitis/pneumonia.

I can breathe deeply now. Three months ago I was struggling to breathe. That's all the evidence I need.

monotony

Jan 2, 2010
bay city, michigan
a friend of mine actually got pneumonia from smokin e cigs, she had been going to [removed] she thought it was a chest cold or an allergic reaction to an ingredient and it was a flavored liquid. the doctor apparently told her that there must be an ingredient in e liquid that triggered it.

spooked me a little bit, and i have a 30ml of blueberry coming from [them] ill let you know if i get pneumonia though.

Last edited by a moderator:

420GypsyGirl

ECF Veteran
Jan 4, 2010
Near a beach in a desert.
Actually, a study, done by a doctor in the 1940's at the University of Chicago, with Propolyn Glycol proved just the opposite. Propolyn Glycol kills the virus and bacteria types of pneumonia which are the two major pneumonia causing pathogens. So it is doubtful it was caused by a virus or a bacteria.