Knock-offs: What's the story?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Springbrook

Verified Member
Dec 18, 2013
Minneapolis,MN
I am new to the vaping world, though I fell fast and am already all in. Long time smoker, recent convert to vaping. Surprisingly easy transition. Trying to figure a few things out, though.
What's the story with Knock-offs? Recently I bought a Vamo, and am very pleased with it. A friend who's been around for a minute or two looked at my unit and said that because it didn't have an official stamp on the bottom, it wasn't the real thing. And that Vamos were among the most copied units around.
Is that a problem, should I care?
Of course if I'm happy with it I'm happy with it.
But I'm curious about this. Is there a general consensus about Knock-offs vs. authentic products?
Thanks for your thoughts on this.

Dakota Jim

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 14, 2013
in a warehouse buried near Univille SD
You will find virtually everything in vaping equipment is knocked of in some version or another.
This generally happens due to the demand is much greater than supply on many new mods and to add to knockoff demand is that many people do not want to spend the big bucks for some originals if the original manufacturer can keep up with production

Some do not get knocked off due to either proprietary electronic chips (eVic comes to mind) or the original manufacturer offers such a fantastic warranty and rebuild service (Provari comes to mind - although there are attempts at look-a-likes) which makes it cost prohibitive to knock off and sustain sales

most knockoffs have a noticeable drop in quality (most common in threading - "crunchy" sounding threading is quite common) and some don't (thinking of Kayfun and Russian)

China does not recognize patents as anything other than a need to make a minor cosmetic change