Kanger Protank II rebuild with cotton wick gurgling?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jb29

Dec 30, 2013
Augusta, ME
Hi all,

I've been trolling the forums for some time, I've been vaping for about 2 months now. I recently purchased a ProTank II and ProTank mini and I love them! When I read about rebuilding the coils I was even more excited to be able to save some money from buying replacement heads.

Anyway, I rebuilt a coil with 32 gauge Kanthal and a cotton wick (reads 2.1 ohms on my Innokin MVP 2), but when I vape there is a definite gurgling sound and little flecks of juice that come though the mouthpiece (yuck!) I was wondering about any troubleshooting advice anyone might have, since I LOVE LOVE LOVE the taste I get from cotton vs the stock silica. Thanks!

Hey jb29, welcome to ECF. Do you have the silicone grommet on the post of the coil? It sounds like your coil is being flooded with too much liquid. Cotton wicks very well, so you may need a bit more cotton on top of your coil to close up the wick holes a little more. There is a very fine line between flooding and dry hits with these things. Post a close up picture of the coil head if you can.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

Just thought about this again, and another thing that may be causing this is too hard of a draw. Nice and slow is what has worked best for me. I'm new to the forum as well, but have been vaping for about 6 months now, and I've been through a lot of different setups trying to find what works best for me without too much fiddling. The most consistent setup I have found so far is a carto tank with single coil 2 ohm 2 hole smoketech, or boge cartomizers.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

RubyRoo

ECF Veteran
Aug 12, 2013
Colorado Springs, CO