Vapor problems on twisted 28g kanthal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohm ike

Feb 8, 2014
Hey guys I'm pretty new to vaping and read up on safely vaping mechs. So I picked up a k101, sony 30a 18650 IMR, and nimbus v5 clone. I twisted my 28g kanthal and did 9wraps. I only made single coil. It's reading .9 ohms and I'm using organic cotton wick with 100% vg juice. But when I vape I am not getting the nice amount of vapor/taste I want. My itaste mvp2 and iclear 30s produce just as much. I only have that one 3.7v battery. So any ideas on why I'm not getting much vapor? Also will adding another coil identical to the one I have on effect the resistance? Should I try not twisting the kanthal? I was under the impression that twisting made it where you could have higher resistence however somehow burn hotter? Thanks.

SilentFox

ECF Veteran
Feb 6, 2014
Reno NV
Well have owned 2 k101's both the 510 threads are junk now after dropping it many a time. It in fact doesnt have any protection chips in them and i got astounding amounts of vapor from my setups with it. Twisting kanthal will not increase the resistance but infact decrease it. I highly suggest doing a 7-8 wrap micro on a 7/64th drill bit using a single strand of 28g kanthal. Should give you around a 1.3 ohm resistance and vape quality will be great. Report back after youve tried this setup if you want and let us know the results. Or you can do a 10 wrap on a 5/64th drill bit for a 1.4 ohm coil which i use alot and is an amazing vape.

ohm ike

Feb 8, 2014
image.jpg This is my first build so I'd like any pointers. Also, I'm putting the air hole right by the coil.

Last edited:

SilentFox

ECF Veteran
Feb 6, 2014
Reno NV