Printed DNA30 Bottom Feeder

Status
Not open for further replies.

gdeal

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Aug 4, 2012
( -_-) Ω~
A while back bapgood got me started on CADing mod designs, so I started playing with a concept for a 3D printed bottom feeder. He was nice enough to lend me some of the elements he used for his SXS to get me going. (So a big Hat Tip to baps). The objective here was to get a squonker design in the smallest amount of space possible. While squeezing in a DNA chip between the juice and battery compartments was a challenge, the toughest part of the design was to get all the wiring connections aligned and into a top cap that was removable for battery changes and juice refills. The mod holds an 18650 and 6ml juice bottle and a number of parts came from MiikePetro and Tibs' co-op but are readily sourced on line. (Faddydaddy 510, copper disc, screws, spring, etc.) The mod has seven printed parts: the body, the base cap, the top cap, the button, an internal removable spacer for the battery compartment and a small positioning piece and a firing pin for the mini tact switch. The juice bottle compartment is fully sealed off in the body from the DNA chip and the battery.

Dimensions are 3.5” x 1.9” X .87”. Here is a comparison to Tibs for size.
3weEHj6.jpg

Rough layout for parts and wiring.
o5zIHf4.jpg

Painted and partial assembly.
uQX8CYQ.jpg

Magnets, spring pin connectors and terminal turrets installed.
pSelm67.jpg

It works!
aIjpuvE.jpg

Final assembly.
dTQSTbI.jpg