Newbie. Kindly explain on ohms / voltage / low & high resistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

OnceUponaDream

Jul 14, 2012
World
First of all, I've actually been vaping for a total of more than 12 months. However it was only a few days ago that I switched to RBA, I'm using a Kayfun Lite+. Previously I've been vaping on the basic ego clearomizers. And therefore I am newbie in the world of true vaping.

I've been doing a lot of readings on how to rebuild an atomizer and there are a few things that always come across in all the discussions I've read... that is Ohms / voltage / woltage / low and high resistance.

Now can someone kindly explain to me in layman terms what are all these? And how it will affect my vaping experience?

I am really a newbie here... I've haven't even really started rebuilding my Kayfun yet! I scare I'll mess it up! Haha.

Lastly, I loving my Kayfun! ;)

The Ocelot

Psychopomp
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 12, 2012
The Clock Barrens, Fillory
Hi

Rather than type it all out, I going to post a link. It should give you a better understanding or at least narrow down your questions.

Undestanding resistances, LR and HV

For calculations I use a power wheel. I played around with letters and quadrants for fun, but the formulae are all still correct.

utm.gif

P (not Po) = Power (watts)
V (not Va) = Voltage (volts)
R = Resistance (ohms)
I = Current (amps) The "I" stands for "Impetus", the original name for the strength of an electrical current; that is, before Andre-Marie Ampere's Law of 1825.

As an example of how to read the wheel: voltage x voltage ÷ resistance = power (watts); voltage ÷ resistance = amps (I). The formulae on the outer ring equal the results on the inner quadrants.

Last edited:

OnceUponaDream

Jul 14, 2012
World
Thanks all for replying! I did tried googling but the informations are scattered and written in terms which is hard for a newbie like me to understand...