Weight Gain?

Status
Not open for further replies.

QueenInNC

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Feb 21, 2009
Charlotte, NC USA
I gained 8 pounds quickly when I quit smoking in June. I started smoking again in December and smoked for a couple of months ( like 10 ish a day). I now have not had an analog in 3 weeks and have seen no gain. I must say though that I exercise at least 4 days per week. That made no difference in June though. The 8 pounds came quick and I have yet to get them off! lol

Walrus

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 3, 2009
Baton Rouge, LA
I'm no expert, but I think that the weight gain comes from the fact that nicotine is an appetite suppressant. You stop the nicotine intake, you get hungrier. You snack. You gain weight.

Being aware of this is half the battle... and fight the hunger. Suck hard candies instead of eating a bar of chocolate. Eat popcorn instead of a bag of chips.

Smart choices... that's what it's all about.

I've actually managed to lose 35 pounds in 6 months, and I'm hypothyroid... so I have a tendency to gain weight.

LuckySevens4U

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 8, 2009
USA
I'm no expert, but I think that the weight gain comes from the fact that nicotine is an appetite suppressant. You stop the nicotine intake, you get hungrier. You snack. You gain weight.

Being aware of this is half the battle... and fight the hunger. Suck hard candies instead of eating a bar of chocolate. Eat popcorn instead of a bag of chips.

Smart choices... that's what it's all about.

I've actually managed to lose 35 pounds in 6 months, and I'm hypothyroid... so I have a tendency to gain weight.

Wally my man!!!! LOL Good for you on the weight loss! That's awesome. I've just always heard it's not just the eating that makes you gain weight when you quit smoking, it's the nic that speeds up your metabolism and without it you will automatically gain weight no matter what you eat. Who knows!

LuckySevens4U

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 8, 2009
USA