Vaping after wisdom tooth extraction: How bad is it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Broseybrose

ECF Veteran
Jul 2, 2010
Ft Lauderdale
I got 3 yanked today, slept for 6 hours, and now that im up, im vaping; but less than usual. The bleeding has stopped (mostly) and there's no pain w/ the percs.

So how bad is it? Is it better than smoking, at least?

Dont get me wrong, i heard the doctor say "no smoking for 72 hours" so im aware that its bad. Im just curious how it compares to smoking, or if anyone has any anecdotes?

ImYourSalt

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Jun 1, 2009
San Diego, CA
liberty-flights.com
better than smoking.

i think a lot of it has to do with the suction though. i would try using a manual battery and pull only as hard as you must.

also, i am not a doctor. this is hypothetically, what i might do in your shoes. but i still smoked at that time. and continued to post-op. but only as often as needed, and i took very small puffs. dragging as lightly as possible.

i turned out ok

As others have stated, yes it's the actual act of sucking that will give you dry sockets, along with the harmful elements of tobacco smoke. Trust me you do not want one, speaking from experience. One trick I learned, stuff cotton balls up into the area where the tooth was extracted, as to form a nice covering/wadding. Then vape away. The cotton balls reduce the "suction" so to speak, and act as a barrier. I did that back when I actually smoked and it worked like a charm, and this was about an hour after being home from having tooth extracted. Granted, it was a molar, so it was a little easier to stuff cotton balls up into the socket and my gum & cheek.

Last edited:

_TJ_

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 17, 2009
SE Ohio in the sticks