Status
Not open for further replies.

KiloWatts

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 26, 2011
West Philadelphia
Hi all,

I've read many of the threads in this forum, and glad to hear people are doing okay with bringing PVs and juice through security. I'm a musician, often touring for a month at a time, so I sometimes go through security as many as 15 times in a month. I started vaping last week, and I fully expect to be asked questions by TSA periodically as I pass through, considering the frequency.

My question is: Who has had interaction with TSA about their e-cigs? What questions did they ask? Did they ever have to bring a "supervisor" over to clear it? Any horror stories? Any confiscations?

Thanks, I appreciate the response!

-Jamie

XDoctor

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 19, 2009
Casper, WY
I was stopped going through security in Las Vegas because of my Chuck. The lady on the scanner was looking at the screen and I heard her say, "What is that?" I said to her, "Does it look like a flashlight?" She said yes and I said, "its an electronic cigarette."

She called over a guy to check the bag, he started rooting around in it, I asked what he was looking for and he told me it looked like it might be a flashlight. I told him where it was in the bag and told him it was an electronic cigarette. He pulled it out, looked it over, said he'd never seen one that big. I resisted the urge to say, "That's what she said."

Then they gave me my bag and I got on the plane. No big deal. Even if they don't know exactly what it is and have never seen one in person, most everyone knows that electronic cigarettes exist. Its not hard convincing them that something innocuous is in fact innocuous.

mwa102464

Resting In Peace
ECF Veteran
Oct 14, 2009
Outside of the Philadelphia Burbs, NJ & Fla