Blood test lab results for nicotine levels!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

happily

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 25, 2009
anchorage, ak
First things first.....a little history.

I was a 2-3 pack a day smoker for 19.5 years. I have been vaping for 2 months an average of 3ml of 36mg juice. I needed to get some blood work done and figured I'd get a cotinine level while I was at it. Now the medical facility was quite helpful but it took 2 days of phone calls and stopping in to get them to do this.(apparently testing of actual levels is not very common) They finally did some research and found out what to do and where to send it. The results are in.

I vaped 80-90mg's (or more) in the days leading up to the test. I drove for and hour and a half before I walked into the office at 4;30 p.m.(nicotine levels are lowest in the morning so I waited until later)Note: I chain vape when I'm driving.

Here are the blood test results

nicotine and cotinine metabolite

test status......final
nicotine...13
cotinine...247
3-oh-cotinine S/P....66

all units are ng/ml

NOTE: Test information..Nicotine and metabolites, serum/plasma analysis performed by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry

reference intervals ng/ml

Nicotine unexposed user level would be less than 2........active tobacco user would be 30-50 (mine is 13)

Cotinine unexposed user would be less than 2.....active tobacco user 200-800 (mine is 247)

3OHcot unexposed user would be less than 2.....active tobacco user 100-500 (mine is 66)

As you can see the cotinine level is the only one that even reached tobacco user levels and was still at the very bottom. The other levels were well below tobacco user levels. This is very good news IMO. Maybe some of you were hoping for high levels but this is proof in my case that these are very successful products. It also explains why I could drop to 10mg a couple days ago and not notice.