Status
Not open for further replies.

gormly

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
Jun 9, 2011
Connecticut USA
www.discountvapers.com
EDIT: I have a new comprehensive chart for optimal vaping for Voltage and Ohms, check it out here:

Or click here to get it full size

I posted this on my website, most of the information was gleaned from other sites and ECF.
I hope this helps some, I've been getting ton of questions about resistance lately.

If anyone sees any glaring errors, feel free to correct me. :) I am not an expert.

This is also on my website with a calculator here:
Undestanding resistances, LR and HV

Undestanding resistances, LR and HV

“LR” stands for low-resistance (for use on 3.7V or less batteries). “HV” stands for high-voltage.

To understand this HV and LR, it helps to be familiar with Ohms Law.
Power (measured in watts) is the intensity of the vape. 6-8 watts is the “sweet spot” for most vapers.

Current (measured in amps) is what can burn out cartomizers. Roughly speaking: around 1.5 amps is fine; 2.0+ amps is risky.

But watts and amps are not properties of cartomizers or batteries. They are derived from cartomizer resistance (measured in ohms) and battery voltage (measured, of course, in volts).

The formulas:
Watts = Volts X Volts / Ohms
Amps = Volts / Ohms

So we need to balance battery voltage with cartomizer resistance to get an ideal vape intensity (6-8 watts or so) without burning out the cartomizer. If the voltage is too low and/or the cartomizer resistance is too high (relative to each other), the watts are low and you get a poor vape (little throat hit, vapor, and flavor). On the other hand, if the voltage is too high and/or the cartomizer resistance is too low, the amps are high and you can burn out the cartomizer.

Regarding Resistance and Voltage Numbers