Allergy pg and or vg - PEG400?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kateyes

Aug 10, 2011
Michigan
Hi I have been vaping since august, 2011. I mostly dealt with one vendor who I liked dealing with. A few months after starting to vape I had facial swelling, eyes, neck, nose and slight rash. I saw my internist several times who referred me to an ENT, saw him twice who said it was an allergy. They put me on clyndimycin for 10 days twice now. I have mostly stuck with menthol type carts and liquids since I started vaping.

So I ordered VG liquid and it seems worse. I read that sometimes VG liquid has coconut or palm oil as a base - coconut I have a known allergy.

I heard there was something called PEG400? that is usda liquid but don't know who supplies it. I guess for me I need to find out what the bases are made from and the vendors don't really list those issues.

Does anyone else have a similar problem and did you find a solution?

I don't want to give this up but I am near the end of my rope.

Thanks for any insight...K

Kay1959

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jan 24, 2012
Out in the middle of Nowhere
I've heard of people being allergic to either VG or PG. Have you tried vaping with just PG? It may well be that you're allergice to the VG. I'm not all that familiar with this sort of thing, but by posting here, I'll be giving this a bump, and maybe someone else more knowledgable will see it and respond.

Vapoor eyes er

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 13, 2011
Toronto, Ont.

Kateyes

Aug 10, 2011
Michigan
Here's a supplier and here's a link explaining PEG
http://www.........../shopping/shopcontent.asp?type=eliquid-base-comparison
Soory the above link is blacklisted by ECF.
http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...on/5874-peg-new-ingredient-instead-pg-vg.html