What wire to buy to 2-3 Ohms spec for iatty2?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doverkin

Mar 31, 2012
US
I am sure this questions must have been covered on ECF somewhere. However thousands of posts at hand and not finding right search results has proven difficult.
I would like to prepare ahead of time before my pre ordered iatty2 and Penelope arrives for who knows how long will provided wire be. I have already took a peep at WalMart, and Home Depot they don't even sell bare wires vapor needs. If anyone has iatty/2 please help suggest a place to buy, online is okay too?
As far as what material of wire to buy. I am not an electrician but I do know basic relation of current and resistance. Enough to say that silver, kanthal, nickel generally meant resistance. Correct me if Im wrong, but non resistance as I understand matters less in a rebuildable atomizer. However in experience in what gage/size or even wraps around the wick to provide 2-3Ohms range, I'll definitely need your advice. I would really appreciate any help you can give, even if it's just a link to the proper information on ECF.
Thanks

TomCatt

Da Catt
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 8, 2011
Upland, PA
Kanthal or nichrome for resistance wire. Silver is a "no resistance" wire. Typically 32 awg or 34 awg for LR and 'standard' resistances. 30 awg will work for LR.

Not sure if there are other differences between kanthal A-1, A and D; but what I've seen is that A-1 has a higher resistivity.

That eBay seller routinely restocks the kanthal, lately he's been selling out quickly, so check back if he's out of stock at the moment.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Doverkin

Mar 31, 2012
US