Is it really water vapor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

damthisisfun

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 6, 2012
Katy, TX
Hello - I am pretty new to the vaping world and really like it. Been off analogs for over 3 months and just loving it. I am a little confused. Most all research I have done, everyone seems to claim all we exhale is water vapor - I am no scientist - but it seems to me that may not be correct. Most liquid has PG and or VG, flavor and nicotine. Isnt that what we inhale and should be exhaling? Where is the water vapor from: our body as in the saliva from the mouth? And are not exhaling any of the PG/VG/Nico? I am asking this to compare e-cigs to analogs in any way. I totally agree these are safer than analogs. But I am still confused - does anyone have any information on this......thanks :confused::confused:

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
... Most liquid has PG and or VG, flavor and nicotine. Isnt that what we inhale and should be exhaling? ...

That's kinda what I subscribe to.

Hey, Pop Quiz...

Can You or Others smell the Flavor of the e-Liquid you use? If so, you must be Exhaling Flavorings.

So we can At Least put Flavorings on the Exhale List.

hnyb0210

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 12, 2012
PA
PG and or vg is a humectent, so it pulls the moisture out of anything it comes in contact with. So in a sense yes you do exhale water vapor, with trace amounts of PG vg the flavoring and even less nic.

A humectant, that's interesting! My father just asked me yesterday "what's in that stuff, anyway?" (asking about my eliquid). I told him & he asked "I wonder what the PG or VG is in there for?"

Wait, doesn't a humectant retain moisture?

Spazmelda

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 18, 2011
Ohio